Skip to product information
1 of 3

Fleur de sel from the Aegean Sea Neolea 100g

Fleur de sel from the Aegean Sea Neolea 100g

Regular price 9,95€ EUR
Regular price Sale price 9,95€ EUR
Promotion Soon Available
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
No reviews

Neolea sea salt is harvested by hand in the Aegean Sea. Harvesting from the rocks keeps the salt pure and adds mineral nutrients.

By keeping the salt in its natural state, the flakes retain their original, irregular shape. This enhances both cooking and the dining experience.

What common point can there be between the goddess Aphrodite and the conservation of hams, a rose perfume and the feeding of cattle, the mummification of a body and gum paste? Salt, of which Pliny the Elder already assured that "it is essential to life". Its great usefulness has always led to the belief that it is a gift from the gods.

Among the ancients, salt appears above all as a powerful mediator. This appreciation is due to its divine character. The best illustrations of this have been given by Homer when he portrays Achilles and Patroclus sprinkling their skewers, or by Hesiod, according to whom Aphrodite was born from the salt resulting from the crystallization of the sperm of Ouranos. A mineral substance that has the power to dissolve in water and to reappear in the form of crystals (evaporation), salt enters into various rituals or practices that it sanctifies. The salt of the Covenant and the accompaniment of oblations among the Hebrews, table salt for oaths and libations among the Greeks, the preparation of mola salsa and the sacrifice to the lares among the Romans illustrate this role of mediator.
In addition, it contributes to sealing friendship as evidenced by a proverb quoted by Aristotle and Cicero and which will later have a French writer say: “To call yourself friends, you must have eaten a minot of salt. He humanizes society.
Through its cross-disciplinary approach, this volume offers an overview of salt in Antiquity, which stands out as a symbol of life in each of the cultures that contributed to forming the Roman Empire, and the diversity of its use gives these pages a special flavor.

BERNARD MOINIER, OLIVIER WELLER

Salt in Antiquity or Aphrodite's crystals

View full details

Passer aux informations produits
1 de 3

Fleur de sel marin de la mer Égée Neolea 100g

Fleur de sel marin de la mer Égée Neolea 100g

Prix habituel 9,95€ EUR
Prix habituel Prix soldé 9,95€ EUR
Vente Bientôt disponible
Taxes incluses. Frais d'expédition calculés à l'étape de paiement.
No reviews

Le sel marin Neolea est récolté à la main dans la mer Égée. La récolte sur les rochers permet de conserver la pureté du sel et d'y ajouter des minéraux nutritifs.

En conservant le sel dans son état naturel, les flocons conservent leur forme originale et irrégulière. Cela améliore à la fois la cuisson et l'expérience culinaire.

Quel point commun peut-il y avoir entre la déesse Aphrodite et la conservation des jambons, un parfum à la rose et l'alimentation du bétail, la momification d’un corps et une pâte gingivale ? Le sel, dont Pline l’Ancien assurait déjà qu’« il est indispensable à la vie ». Sa grande utilité a toujours donné à penser qu’il est un don des dieux.

Chez les Anciens, le sel apparaît surtout comme un puissant médiateur. Cette appréciation tient à son caractère divin. Les meilleures illustrations en ont été données par Homère quand il campe Achille et Patrocle saupoudrant leurs brochettes, ou par Hésiode, selon qui Aphrodite est née du sel résultant de la cristallisation du sperme d’Ouranos. Substance minérale qui a le pouvoir de se dissoudre dans l’eau et de reparaître sous la forme de cristaux (évaporation), le sel entre dans divers rituels ou pratiques qu’il sacralise. Le sel de l’Alliance et l’accompagnement des oblations chez les Hébreux, le sel de table pour les serments et les libations chez les Grecs, la confection de la mola salsa et le sacrifice aux lares chez les Romains illustrent ce rôle de médiateur.
En outre, il contribue à sceller l’amitié ainsi qu’en témoigne un proverbe que citent Aristote et Cicéron et qui fera dire plus tard à un écrivain français : « Pour se dire amis, il faut avoir mangé un minot de sel. » Il humanise la société.
Par son approche transversale, le présent volume offre une vision d’ensemble du sel dans l’Antiquité qui s’impose comme un symbole de vie dans chacune des cultures ayant contribué à former l’Empire romain, et la diversité de son usage donne à ces pages une saveur  particulière.

BERNARD MOINIER, OLIVIER WELLER

Le Sel dans l'Antiquité ou les cristaux d'Aphrodite

 

 

Afficher tous les détails